Jam and Jerusalem

Yesterday. What happened yesterday? I forgot! Seems to be happening far too often this week, I must make more effort. I had a busy day and then found out quite late that I had an engagement that evening. A fancy word for the retirement of my primary school head teacher; there were a few speeches, a video, a couple of gifts, a curry dinner and plenty of mingling. Me and a couple of girls I went there with were chatting with the teacher from our last couple of years, we reminisced and she remarked how grown up we all were – the fact one of us has a two year old son was tactfully avoided. To clear any confusion up, not me.

Anyway, I did get a little bit done yesterday, some painting of my room and made – wait for it – waffle iron brownies. I found the recipe here but modified it thus:

115g of butter

30g cocoa

170g sugar

150g plain flour

2 eggs

1 tbsp water

a pinch of salt

  1. Preheat the waffle iron.
  2. Melt the butter and remove from heat.
  3. Stir in the cocoa thoroughly.
  4. Mix in the sugar eggs and water.
  5. Finally add the flour and salt, beat out any lumps.
  6. Cook as with waffles.

What can I say, this one was a definite winner. Not too sweet and pretty chocolaty, my family loved it. This one goes in the recipe book.

Now today, as some of you may have seen, I picked some wild apples to cook with. They were so sour that eating them was akin to eating sloe berries but that meant they had plenty of pectin and meant that I could use the in (as some of you may have guessed from the title) jam. They went with a load of loganberries from the neighbor (he’s still delivering boxes of them except by now about half aren’t fit for eating and have to be turned into jam).

I boiled up the loganberries and quartered apples with a little sugar and was surprised at how mushy and nice the apples became, this lead me to conclude that instead of being wild they may in fact be an escaped and undernourished cooking apple variety.

006

Anyway, when they had boiled down to mush I strained them and then added some more sugar and boiled to a setting point. The jam is cooling in the fridge as we speak with the label ‘loganberry & wild apple’ affixed to it.

In addition to this I have tested my other bruu tea variety today, the mango and yogurt.

001 (2)

To be completely honest I don’t really like this one. It’s initially like normal fruit tea (the bog standard strawberry/raspberry types) but the yogurt expresses itself with hints of gone off milk on the aftertaste. It’s not undrinkable but I definitely prefer my mint spicy chai.

Anyway so that’s me done for the day. I’ll probably fit in some decorating later and I’m working tomorrow so it’ll be a late post. I leave you with this gem that features heavily in my dancing mix.

Leave a Reply

