Sunny Summer Daze

So today I woke up late (sleep debt from exam season is catching up with me) and posted yesterday’s post. It simply refused to do it last night! Anyway, I was then at a loss, whilst I have plans for this evening (off to see legally blond, my first musical and one of my favourite films) I had none for today. I was going to do some baking however I then realised how sunny it was and decided against it. However in that spirit I will be sharing with you my grandmother’s rock buns recipe. Following my discuit failure yesterday it’s nice to be reminded of such a failsafe recipe, it’s super easy and perfect with afternoon tea. So I’m going to write it in my recipe book and post it here:

225g self-raising flour

pinch of salt

100g butter/margarine

100g sugar

100g mixed fruit

1 large/2 small eggs

  1. Mix flour and salt before rubbing in the fat
  2. Add the sugar and fruit
  3. Blend in the lightly beaten egg(s)
  4. Spoon into greased cupcake tins (I’m not sure if that’s what they’re called – the ones with individual dimples in for each cake), you don’t need to bother putting them in cases
  5. Cook for 15-20 minutes at gas mark 6

Anyway, I digress. Following my decision not to bake I decided to have a walk and a picnic. Living on a farm in the middle of nowhere does have it’s benefits after all. So I loaded up my camera, a blanket and some lunch (the remainder of last night’s chinese takeaway, some hummus and carrot sticks). I walked to a nice spot with dappled shade about half a mile away and spend a lovely hour or so lounging. Here are a couple of photos as proof:

IMG_5331 IMG_5332

Anyway so after getting home and sitting down I was immediately drafted into firstly helping to round up an escaped bull (someone forgot about him after a TB test this morning and he was just wandering round the yard) and then secondly into moving my brother’s show cow and her new calf (so small, so fluffy) into the field next to the house. The only problem being that show cows are very tame and therefore hard to drive, we ended up picking up her calf and having her follow us that way!

Anyway, here I now sit having been outside and been active today and suddenly realising how unfit I have got. My solution? Warm up by madly dancing to my favourite youtube playlist for 5 minutes (heavy on the Joan Jett, Blondie and Taylor Swift) before 50 sit ups and 20 press ups, finish with some warm down stretching (which,given that I used to dance and climb is pretty, ahem, extreme).

Anyway so that’s me done on here for the day. This evening it’s a musical and tomorrow I’m off shopping with an older friend so I’ll probably be banging on about what I bought tomorrow evening. See ya!

Leave a Reply

